Self reliance

Posted: August 11, 2017 in Spiritual Journey

There’s a line in the pledge I recite as part of my martial arts practice that basically emphasizes self-reliance and self-discipline. It’s always made me a little uncomfortable for a couple of reasons.

First up, if I accept the importance of self reliance at face value… I’m kinda shit at it. I mean, I don’t think I’m the most self absorbed needy person out there, but I know that I often look to others to validate me. More specifically, I recognize that I look to others more during times when I’m feeling less self confident, secure and settled. That is, times where I feel like I’m not being the best version of me.

But on the other side of things, there’s my very firm belief that nobody can exist in isolation. I can count the number of good night’s out I’ve had without other people on the fingers of one hand… following a horrific glazing accident. And the creeping impersonalisation (no that’s not a word) I see around me in the city, the systems that minimise our chances to interact with people, these bother me, as I know they’ve bothered many others before me.

Or maybe I’m just turning into a grumpy old man?

Leave a Reply

