Equine Drowning

Posted: April 26, 2015 in Spiritual Journey

“You can lead a horse to water; but you can’t make it drink.

But if you hold its head under long enough; something is bound to go in!”

Those spoke a great teacher and someone I have a lot of respect for. I’ve been thinking about this recently, in the context of rope. You see there are things that I know, that academically I have processed and have heard so many times from people whose opinions I respect that I really am past doubting it. But there is still a difference between knowing something logically, academically, factually in your brain, and knowing it in a deeper sense, in your hands, your breath, the way you live your life, the way you sit, breathe, be.

“You were really weird; it was like you were tying someone else,” said a friend of mine recently. And it was true, I was being weird. I wasn’t in the head space I thought I was and, worst of all, I was focusing on something other than the person I was tying with. If there’s one thing I should really have learnt by now it’s that you can’t lie when you’re using rope with someone, it just doesn’t work. I can’t put a definite finger on it, but it sets up a sort of discord between what you’re saying and what you’re doing.

Fast forward to another scene. I was about to tie someone for the first time. I was a bit tired, and stressed and, whilst I’d been looking forward to getting my hands on him, I just didn’t feel that it was the right time, that I wouldn’t be able to really do what I wanted to do with it. So I told him. I explained in simple terms that I was a bit out of it and forwarned him that he wouldn’t be getting the best from me. He said ok and we went ahead. I won’t pretend the scene was earth-shattering but it was certainly eye-opening. And what’s most important, I was able to relax, I wasn’t thinking about what I ‘should’ be doing, or feeling, or making the other person feel. And it went much better than I thought.

So yes, keep holding my head under, it’ll go in eventually!

Leave a Reply

