Minorities within minorities

Posted: February 17, 2015 in Spiritual Journey

So, I’ve been wrestling with a basic problem. And when I say basic I don’t mean simple, I guess fundamental might be a better adjective.

What is it that I actually want to do?

Having now participated in a couple of actual rituals I’m very much sold on the idea of conducting ritual as a something I find engaging and fulfilling. But when faced with the question of how to draw other aspects of ‘presentism’ into my practice I’m faced with a bit of a conundrum.

I can try to practice things alone, but this then massively diminishes many of my favourite aspects. the atmosphere created by multiple people coming together. Not to mention the simple fact that some things, like rope, really truly cannot be experienced solo.

So I need to do things with other people. This kind of presents a whole new landscape of problems. First up being that, whilst the magical practitioners I’ve met thus far have all been fascinating and very open-minded people, I can;t help but feel that, however politely, asking them if I can tie them up, will go down particularly well. At the other end of the spectrum, kinky folks are also, by and large, very open-minded interesting people. But somehow the notion of approaching them to participate in some sketchily thought-out (or just not-thought-out at this stage) magical ritual might feel like stretching the old mantra “your kink is not my kink, but your kink is OK” a little too far for comfort. Or perhaps I’m just worried that negotiating a scene might get a little too complicated when you need to compare theologies and potentially pantheons of deities.

Now I’m sure that if I were to draw a Venn diagram of kinky people and (for want of a better word) magicy people there would probably be a surprisingly large overlap. But, as with martial arts, I find this a slightly problematic thing to address. Put simply, if you go to a kink event, it’s kind of assumed that talking about kink is expected, even encouraged. the same when attending a magic event. But broaching the wrong topic in the wrong place can be tricky. Not impossible, but it then has to be done without the protective layer of people pre-selecting to be interested in the same thing.

I guess what I’m saying is that both kinky and magicy people have a very similar problem. We all look (mostly) normal.

Maybe we need some kind of signal, like a secret handsha–No!

Leave a Reply

