Beginning with a name

Posted: February 10, 2015 in Spiritual Journey

Beginning is a difficult thing sometimes. So let’s start with a name, and perhaps a description.

This blog is a place for me to document my experiences in a way that doesn’t quite fit elsewhere. In life I’m an erotica writer, kinkster and enthusiast for martial arts and kinbaku (rope bondage). I’ve always had a spiritual side to myself and this has manifested in all of my hobbies to some extent and I’m now looking at bringing this together into some over-arching practice.

I bought my first tarot deck over a year ago and started using it regularly about six months ago. I’ve found it an interesting and sometimes disturbingly useful tool for addressing what’s been going on in my life. It also started the thought process that led to my current novella-in-progress and a huge chunk of research that’s led me to this point now where I’m looking at magic, occultism, wicca, witchcraft, chaos magic and pretty much anything else I can lay my hands on as a way of forming a path that’s right for me. As starting points go it’s kind of hard to get vaguer than that, but I fully expect this to develop as time goes on.

So the name. I anointed my tarot deck with the four elements. I actually kind of doubled them up. I used coffee to represent earth and water, and a scented candle for fire and air. So why not coffee and candles? Well partly because I didn’t think of that until just now and I’m damned if I’m going to register yet another wordpress blog under this account. But also because one of the aspects that I’m very very keen on bringing in is rope. And when I do rope, my favourite is thick, heavy hemp. It’s not as fast of flingy as the jute most people I know go for, but I like the fact that when I hold it in my hands it feels like rope, not string. For me hemp is something real, solid, powerful.

So, here it begins, with coffee, and with hemp.

Leave a Reply

